“He is not an everyman’s grandpapa”

September 11, 2008 at 11:13 pm 2 comments

So apparently when you write about children’s literature, people start to send you things about children’s literature (don’t stop doing this — I love getting the forwards). I think this one might appeal to more than just me. I’ve never written on Maurice Sendak, but I’d like to, and this article from the New York Times shows exactly why.

On a similar, but separate note, I’m contemplating my project for the year. I’m teaching for 16 hours/week, but we’re asked to pursue some separate project while we’re here. I proposed a project compiling folk tales from immigrant children, but I’m thinking that I might like to change my topic and try to see if immigrant folk tales specifically and themes of increasing multiculturalism have made their way into recent best-sellers of children’s literature in Spain (written by Spaniards, of course). Do people have any input on which I should do/insights into either topic?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

City Kids

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brittneyjoyce  |  September 12, 2008 at 6:28 am

    I vote Harry Potter! you’re, like, not all that far from England, right? HUGS FROM CALI!

  • 2. brittneyjoyce  |  September 12, 2008 at 6:33 am

    I don’t think I understand posting (it never went up? I’m gonna look stupid when two go up…), so let me try again: I vote that you do a project on Harry Potter since you’re, like, a country or two away from England, and I don’t know of any Spanish books, plus I don’t speak Spanish. LOVE FROM CALIFORNIA!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read the Printed Word!
he sailed off through night and day and in and out of weeks and almost over a year to where the wild things are.

Recent Posts


