G-rated(er) Fairytales

October 22, 2008 at 8:24 pm 7 comments

I wasn’t supposed to go to work today, since the kids were taking a field trip to a nearby park for some “nature watching” (they expected sightings of duck, pigeon, and perhaps the ever-illusive squirrel). However, as is apt to happen when good things are scheduled, it rained. Poured.

So instead of a field trip, the kids not only got class, but indoor recess. In a scramble to keep these legions of riled up children entertained, every dvd player in the school got a workout. The school, thankfully, likes honoring their promises, so I wasn’t sent to the classrooms. Instead, I worked on painting a big Halloween poster.

From my post in the art room, I could overhear the first grade’s version of “Snow White.” In the Spanish bilingual school system, Snow White is pretty close to our own Snow White, but with one important difference: instead of kissing the sleeping Snow White, the Prince prays and the piece of poisoned apple pops out of her mouth. Yeah, prays. Apparently the original story was a bit too risque. And yet the ads for “Diary of a Nymphomaniac” are on every bus stop and news stand. Oh Europe.

And in best news ever: Steph arrives in Madrid MANANA. And I have tickets to see Hannah, and I’ve not only got tickets home for Christmas Break, but also a side trip San Francisco. So I think that means in the next few months I’ll get to see 4 out of my 6 regular readers (sorry Amandas!)

Note: In Spanish, the word for kiss, “besar,” sounds a whole lot like the word for pray, “rezar.” But yeah, the movie was in English.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Ominous. All Dahl-ed Up

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea K.  |  October 22, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    ahem. 7 readers:)

  • 2. Liz  |  October 22, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Sorry, 7!! If only I could see you, too. 😦

  • 3. Amanda  |  October 22, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    Boo! (Although let me know the next time you’re in Indiana…)

  • 4. Steph  |  October 23, 2008 at 8:42 am

    In pursuit of being your creepiest reader, I write this comment FROM YOUR LIVING ROOM! So if I never come back from wandering around this afternoon, you’ll know I was here/got in post panicky-pay-phone call.

    I am soooo excited to be here and can’t wait to see you!

  • 5. Julie  |  October 26, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    yay! this loyal reader is very happy. πŸ™‚

  • 6. Amanda2  |  October 27, 2008 at 2:59 am

    😦
    i am saddened.
    come to princeton! or nyc! or claremont!

  • 7. bootsandlibraries  |  October 27, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Yay for tickets to visit me! And also, San Fransisco over winter, you say? Any chance I’ll catch you at the MLA conference? In any case, I’ve got such a lot of good stuff to show you while you’re in London. Oh, but here’s what I need you to do: Bring a proof of address (drivers liscence counts) so that we can get you a reader’s card at the British Library. Definitely.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read the Printed Word!
he sailed off through night and day and in and out of weeks and almost over a year to where the wild things are.

Recent Posts


