They’re learning!

February 11, 2009 at 6:25 pm 2 comments

Today was poetry day with my fourth graders. It’s my favorite day of the week, because, first of all, it’s the only two hours when I get the class entirely to myself. I control content, am in charge of discipline, and stand up there with the chalk in my own hand rather than ready to hand to a teacher. Sometimes this is, of course, stressful, but mostly it’s super-rewarding (I have a suspicion that this is the status quo for teaching).

The very best thing about poetry day, though, is that my students write their own poems. The results are often varied in terms of quality, but are invariably fascinating. Today we had three poems that involved the rhyme pair “pig” and “big,” two of which started with the line, “I have got a pig.” But there were some other, incredibly creative works as well. Here are my two favorites:

Once upon a time was a whirlpool.

It was in the swimming pool.

My mother says it’s good

And I say it’s cool.

A grasp of English colloquialism! Impending danger! And use of the world “whirlpool”!

Air on the beach

And air on the leaf

And air on the reef

But not in my dreams.

Complex distinction between real and imagined realms? Aw yeah!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

You’ll scare the children! Poetry Wednesday: “Like a cornflake”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dr  |  February 11, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Those are really great. The rhythms in the second one are particularly lovely: the near-echo of line 1 in lines 2 and 3, and then the shift to a new rhythm in line 4.

  • 2. Liz  |  February 11, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    I was so impressed when she presented it! Especially since this is a student who, though she seems quite bright, spends most of class looking out the window. Maybe she spends that time composing poems in her head. Whatever she’s doing, it pays off here.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read the Printed Word!
he sailed off through night and day and in and out of weeks and almost over a year to where the wild things are.

Recent Posts


