Poetry Wednesday: “Like a cornflake”

February 18, 2009 at 8:33 pm 2 comments

Today was poetry Wednesday again, and almost all of my students memorized last week’s poem correctly. Turns out, poems about dogs and cats seem to be pretty successful. The writing this week was pretty successful, too. We had only one poem that contained the line “I have got a pig,” and a whopping 7 students composed something! As usual, here are some of my favorites (slightly edited):

A Mouse

A mouse entered in

My house. My mother

Starts to shout and shout

And I go out

And think about

A mouse.

Will and Julia

Will and Julia will be together

For  all their life forever

They will not be separated never.

I See

I look at me

And I see

Many things have to be

I see a bee

I see the way

That she say

I see a snake

Like a cornflake

Eating nice rice

And she receives a prize

In snake place.

And lastly,

A Sound in the Street

There are lots of people,

They’re walking in the street.

There are lots of people,

They’re shopping in the street.

They’ve got the sound of the city in their feet.

While I’m quite impressed with this poem, I wonder about the last line. Impressive, but familiar? Input?

Entry filed under: Poetry Wednesday. Tags: , .

They’re learning! Close, but no cigar

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  February 19, 2009 at 3:39 am

    I actually dig the first one, too. It’s weirdly existential.

    The last line of the last poem is very impressive. Pretty abstract for a kid, too – I feel like most native speakers couldn’t come up with that sort of thing at that age. But Googling returns nothing much like that line, so you may just have a prodigy…

  • 2. Stephanie  |  February 19, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    I like “I See,” particularly the first few lines. Well done, poetry professor.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read the Printed Word!
he sailed off through night and day and in and out of weeks and almost over a year to where the wild things are.

Recent Posts


