Well-defined

January 30, 2010 at 10:14 am 2 comments

Have you guys seen the blog My First Dictionary?

When I was about eight, I begged my parents to buy me a set of children’s encyclopedias at a garage sale. They were falling apart, and I don’t remember when I ever used them, except once, to look up the word “Notorious”. The definition was something along the lines of “famous, but for a bad reason”, and the illustration was similar to “The Movie Star is famous.  Buffalo Bill is notorious.” I didn’t get the difference (I have to admit that, at the time, I was pretty into Annie Get Your Gun).

My First Dictionary has a much better example:

Other definitions are even better:

Seriously, check it out.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Among Art Deco Gnomes Werner Herzog reads “Curious George”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. meg  |  January 30, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    Have you seen Unhappy Hipsters?
    http://unhappyhipsters.com/

  • 2. Liz  |  January 31, 2010 at 2:58 am

    Yes! I love that all the photos are from Dwell. I hope they take on the Anthropologie catalog next. Though my personal favorite of that genre of blog (is there a name for it?) is Goths In Hot Weather. http://gothsinhotweather.com/

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read the Printed Word!
he sailed off through night and day and in and out of weeks and almost over a year to where the wild things are.

Recent Posts


